## Patiala—Chandigarh declared joint winners of U-19 Inter District Tournament for D.P. Azad Trophy

The final match between Patiala and Chandigarh was abandoned after 41 overs were bowled. The match was called off due to continuous rain. Both the teams were declared joint winners and Patiala got the option to keep the trophy for the first six months after winning the toss. Chandigarh who batted first after winning the toss scored 161 for 6 in 41 overs when a downpour stopped play. Jagmeet Singh 25 off 43 balls, Raman Bishnoi 27 off 51 balls, Lakshay Rakhra 47 off 73 balls, Pradeep Yadav 36 off 46 balls were the main contributors with the bat for Chandigarh. For Patiala Tejpreet Singh 3 for 24, Akul Pandove 1 for 36, Abhishek Verma 1 for 19 and Gurvinder 1 for 20 were the main wicket takers for Patiala.

Mr. J.R. Sachdeva, President Patiala Cricket Association handed over the D.P. Azad trophy jointly to Captains of Chandigarh and Patiala teams. Mr. Sachdeva exhorted the players to keep discipline paramount in their mind while exhibiting their cricketing talent. Mr. Sushil Kapoor spokesperson PCA recounted the exploits of Dronacharya Awardee D.P. Azad who had produced many national and international cricketers like Kapildev Nikhanj and host of others with his disciplined coaching and a keen eye for spotting and moulding new talent. Best batsman award was given to Prabhsimran Singh of Patiala, the best bowler award to Nipun Pandita of Chandigarh, Best fielder award to Pradeep Yadav of Chandigarh and player of the tournament award to Anmolpreet Singh of Patiala who had also represented India in U-19 world Cup.